How to Appreciate Wine

Wednesday, July 25th, 2007 at 12:00 am

wine degustationEnjoying wine is something of an art. There are certain elements that work together in order for the wine lover to fully appreciate what fine wine should be. It does not just involve the taste of the wine alone that would comprise total wine appreciation. There are actually four elements that are used in order to appraise the good qualities of a certain wine.

There are four elements that make up the total appreciation of wine involve the vision, olfaction, degustation and tactile senses. Fine wine should pass through these different elements and well appreciated before they can be considered as of excellent quality. The first of the senses that is used to enjoy wine involves the sight. How eye-catching a wine looks in terms of its color and clarity would help a wine lover initially appreciate fine wine.


In terms of vision, the color as well as its depth or intensity helps a wine lover see the condition and the age of the wine itself. The color will tell the wine lover just how the aged the wine is. How clear the wine is would also help distinguish fine wine with ordinary ones.

Olfactory senses

The olfactory senses or the smell then comes next in the progression of wine enjoyment. After the eyes have fully appreciated the appearance of the wine, the human nose then tries to come into play. The smell of the wine will be able to tell a lot on how the wine has been processed grown and most possible where the grapes were cultivated and harvested.

The smell can then be further divided into its aroma or the odors derived from the grape and the bouquet, or the odor derived from during the wine making process. It is only due to excellent grape varieties and how expertly they were cultivated, processed, and aged that will help make fine wine have that distinctive and aromatic smell that will mostly help in bringing out the flavor, which is the next element in the progression of wine enjoyment.

Degustation and tactile senses

The taste (degustation) and the feel (tactile) elements actually work hand in hand. When it comes to the taste of wine, there are three types that always come to mind- acidity, bitterness and sweetness. The taste of wine can be initially perceived from its smell and the actual taste just becomes a secondary assessment to confirm the qualities of fine wine.

Closely associated with the taste is the feel of the wine. The sensations that the wine produces in the mouth comprises its feel. A balanced wine should be the one that doesn’t leave any gaps or holes in the overall feel but instead provide a uniform and smooth feeling once it is tasted.

The summary of the use of the four senses comprises what wine enjoyment really is. So the next time you take another sip of wine, make sure that you make the four senses ready in order to experienced what wine enjoyment really is all about.


Leave a Reply