Chile Wine Regions

Tuesday, April 24th, 2007 at 12:00 am

Chile vineyardAs the Chilean wine industry begins to develop and progress, quality and elegance became a more valuable commodity. In order to better identify where the finest quality wines come from and how the characteristics brought about by the difference in climate and environment in the different wine producing areas, the country defined 1994 what became the different divisions that created the different Viticultural regions of the country.

The viticultural regions came to help distinguish where certain grape varieties are being grown in Chile and made into wine. These regions are located in the central portion of the country and are arranged starting from the north going down to the southern parts of Chile.

Viticultural Region of Atacama

This is the northernmost wine region in Chile. It is located within the III Administrative Region and is comprised of two subregions, namely the Copiapó Valley and the Huasco Valley. Both these subregions are located in the vicinity of the provinces also known under the same names.

Viticultural Region of Coquimbo

Located within the IV Administrative Region, Coquimbo has three other subregions under it. The Elqui Valley, Limarí Valley, and the Choapa Valley all are newly established areas that are being developed for viticultural production.

Viticultural Region of Aconcagua

This wine region is found within the V Administrative Region of Chile. Its two subregions, the Valley of Aconcagua and the Valley of Casablanca, offer a varied landscapes for the grape growers. The Aconcagua Valley, which covers the same area as the province of that name is primarily the source of some of Chile’s fine quality red wines. The Casablanca Valley on the other hand, is an important source of the country’s white wine production.

Viticultural Region of the Central Valley

This wine region covers both the VI and VII Administrative Regions as well as the Administrative Metropolitan Region. There are four subregions within its confines- the Maipo Valley, the Rapel Valley, the Curicó Valley and the Maule Valley. This is the wine region where a great majority of the country’s wines are being produced. Maipo Valley is considered as Chile’s oldest wine region while Maule Valley produces the most wine than any other Chilean wine region.

Viticultural Region of the South

This is the southernmost wine region in Chile and is located within the VIII Administrative Region. The two subregions, Itata Valley and Bío-Bío Valley, have a variety of different grape varietals being planted there.The wine regions in Chile enjoy a diversity that may not be present anywhere else in the globe. Depending on its location, the climate may vary from the heat of the arid and dry desert environment from the North to the cold and icy expanse experienced in the southernmost regions. In between them, vineyards may enjoy basking in warm sun amidst the fertile valleys.

The different climate and environmental conditions allow Chile the opportunity to plant a diversity of grape varietals that allows them to produce fine quality wines unlike any other in the world.


Leave a Reply